In React Bricks, you have the option to activate two different types of workflows for pages:
- Working Copy: This workflow decouples saving and publishing, meaning that the content is only visible when it is marked as ready for publishing.
- Approval: With this workflow, when the content is ready and the editor commits it, it must be approved by a user with the proper permission before it becomes visible.
Both workflows can be activated through the Dashboard. For more information, refer to the Dashboard - Approval Workflow documentation.
With the "Working Copy" workflow, the content is not immediately available when saved. This means that if you have a page under construction, the content being worked on will not be published on the production website when someone requests a rebuild of the static website or views it with server-side rendering (SSR).
When you save a page, a new copy of the content is created, known as the "working copy." Once the page is ready, you can "commit" the changes to apply them and make them ready for deployment.
The approval workflow is similar to the Working Copy workflow, but with an additional step. When the editor commits the content of a page, the working copy is not immediately merged into production. Instead, another user with the approval permission needs to review and approve the content before it can be merged into the production environment.